Types of fats: To eat or not to eat?

Fat structures

Historically, there has been great emphasis on the total fat in the diet, but the types of fats we eat are equally important because of their impact on health.

Fats, as they are commonly called are actually triglycerides.  A triglyceride as it’s name suggests, consists of three fatty acids that are attached to a molecule of a substance called glycerol

Fatty acids may be classified based upon the chain length and saturation status. You may be wondering..what has a lesson reminiscent of my high school chemistry class got to do with the kinds of fats I eat? However, these characteristics influence the fatty acids’ properties in cooking, how they impact your cholesterol levels and other vital functions in your body.

  1. Classification based upon chain length:
    1. Short chain  ( up to 6 carbons) 
    2. Medium chain ( 8-12 carbons long) 
    3. Long chain ( >12 carbons, with the 18 and 20 carbon ones being especially important in nutrition) 

  1. Classification based upon saturation status
    1. Saturated fatty acids: These fats have no double bonds at all. Because of their molecular structure, saturated fats are solid at room temperature. Think of that stick of butter in your refrigerator. Unless the mercury hits 95 degrees, butter tends to holds it shape.  

      Saturated fat: butter

      Saturated fat: butter; Copyright © 2015 Sangeeta Pradhan

    2. Trans fatty acids: These are found in partially hydrogenated oils and may be more harmful than saturated fats. For information on how they are produced, please listen to my podcast below. 
    3. Unsaturated fatty acids: May have only one double bond (aptly called “mono” unsaturated) or 2 or more double bonds (polyunsaturated). Because of their spatial configuration, unsaturated fats tend to be liquid at room temperature, and favorably impact your cholesterol levels
      1. Monounsaturated: That olive oil you love to toss on your pasta, is a classic example, as well as nuts and avocados.

        Monounsaturated fats: olive oil; Copyright © 2015 Sangeeta Pradhan

      2. Polyunsaturated: Depending upon the location of the double bond, polyunsaturated fats may be classified as:
        1. Omega -3 fatty acids: Found in cold water fish such as cod, mackerel, trout etc.  Think of fish with oily skin. Also found in walnuts and flax-seed.
        2. Omega 6 fatty acids: Found in vegetable oils such as safflower, sunflower and corn oil.

For more information, please listen to my podcast at 

and visit:

http://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/the-truth-about-fats-bad-and-good?utm_ns tailored for your unique needs.source=twitter&utm_medium=socialmedia&utm_campaign=020815kr1&utm_content=fhg

Disclaimer: This blog is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as medical advice. Please consult your doctor or registered dietitian for recommendations

About Sangeeta Pradhan RD, CDE

Hi there! Welcome to my blog! If you are confused with all the conflicting messages you get bombarded with every day on carbs, fats, proteins, gluten and anything you can think of related to nutrition, look no further! The purpose of my blog is to cut through all this clutter, utilizing scientific, evidence based guidelines to help you, the consumer, navigate the complex, dietary landscape, and thus empower you to make informed decisions.
This entry was posted in Fat types and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Types of fats: To eat or not to eat?

  1. Pingback: Nutritious Recipes: American Chop suey, Indian style - India New England News

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s